Corporation For Public Broadcasting Presents Edward R. Murrow Award To NPR's Nina Totenberg

CPB Presents Edward R. Murrow Award To NPR's Nina Totenberg



(Washington, DC) - July 8, 2010 - The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) today named Nina Totenberg, NPR's award-winning legal affairs correspondent, the recipient of the 2010 Edward R. Murrow Award.

"Nina Totenberg represents public media's excellence in journalism," said Pat Harrison, president and CEO of CPB. "Her work embodies the legacy of Edward Murrow, and we're pleased to honor her with this distinguished award."

Nina Totenberg has worked with NPR for thirty-five years. Her reports air regularly on NPR's All Things Considered, Morning Edition, and Weekend Edition.

Totenberg has received numerous honors for her work, including Broadcaster of the Year and the 1998 Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcasting, both from the National Press Foundation. She has been honored seven times by the American Bar Association for continued excellence in legal reporting and won widespread recognition for her coverage of the Supreme Court. In 1991, her reporting during the confirmation hearings of Justice Clarence Thomas earned NPR the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award. In addition, Totenberg has served as Washington editor of New Times Magazine, and legal affairs correspondent for the National Observer.

About the Murrow Award: Since 1977, CPB has presented the Murrow Award to individuals who foster public radio's quality and service and shape its direction. The award is named for the legendary reporter, producer, executive and government official, who championed responsible, courageous and imaginative uses of electronic media during his distinguished 30- year career. It's the industry's most prestigious award.

About CPB

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), a private, nonprofit corporation created by Congress in 1967, is the steward of the federal government's investment in public broadcasting. It helps support the operations of more than 1,400 locally-owned and -operated public television and radio stations nationwide, and is the largest single source of funding for research, technology, and program development for public radio, television and related online services.