CPB names NPR's Peter Loewenstein Recipient of 2002 Murrow Award

Washington, DC, May 17, 2002 - The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) has named Peter J. Loewenstein, vice president for distribution at National Public Radio, recipient of the 2002 Edward R. Murrow Award, the industry's highest honor.

Loewenstein, who has headed NPR's distribution division since 1985, is responsible for planning, operation and management of the public radio satellite system (PRSS). PRSS feeds more than 80,000 hours of news, music, documentaries, public affairs and specialized programs each year to hundreds of public radio stations throughout the United States. Operating 24 hours a day, seven days a week, it delivers content created by NPR, Public Radio International, and more than 200 other independent radio producers and organizations. It also provides free access to two minority-owned networks, Satellite Radio Bilingüe.

About CPB

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), a private, nonprofit corporation created by Congress in 1967, is the steward of the federal government's investment in public broadcasting. It helps support the operations of more than 1,400 locally-owned and -operated public television and radio stations nationwide, and is the largest single source of funding for research, technology, and program development for public radio, television and related online services.